|Information and the world-Part 2|

For our main 3 week project, we have been asked to look at the world right now and take in information and present this information within an interesting and innovative manner. We have been given full rein on what topic we can choose and how we would like to present the information. 

Monday 6th February:

Within my last blog post I expressed that I needed to define what outcome i was going to create. However after doing research upon the voting system around the world I found that only one country within 2017 still don’t allow women to vote, Vatican city.

After finding out this information I decided that I needed to change my idea again as this didn’t give me a strong enough foundation to build a project of this length on. Whilst researching about voting I found lots of information on different sexist laws from around the world. I felt that this would be an interesting way to show information and shock many people with how ludicrous the laws actually are.

Here are the laws that I found:

  1. In El Salvador women whom suffer a miscarriage or stillbirth are often suspected of deliberately inducing abortions and can be given jail time up to 10 years for murder.
  2. In India non-consensual sex within marriage is not a criminal offence. it doesn’t constitute as rape as long as the wife is above 15 in India and 13 in Singapore.
  3. In Chile, Tunisia and UK a man deserves to inherit more than a woman.
  4. in Iran, Syria and Egypt honor killings are a less serious offence than standard murder, they are used as punishment for bringing shame upon their households.
  5. In Nigeria a man is legally allowed to beat his wife in order to correct her.
  6. In Yemen a woman is considered only half of a witness and therefore it takes two women to testify.
  7. In Saudi Arabia women are banned from driving and are not allowed to own a driving licence.
  8. In Madagascar women are not allowed to work at night.
  9. In Saudi Arabia women are not allowed to go into a cemetery without a man.
  10. In Yemen, wives do not have the right to turn down intercourse with their husbands.
  11. In Russia, there are 456 official jobs that cannot be completed by a woman.
  12. In Israel divorce may only be granted by the husbands permission.
  13. In Vatican City women are not allowed to vote.
  14. In malta a kidnapper is given leniency if he plans on marrying his victim.
  15. In Lebanon, they don’t have codes to cover divorce, property rights and rights of care for children.
  16. In Indonesia, Mali, Algeria, Kenya and Tanzania men are allowed to have more than one wife.
  17. In Iran girls are considered adults at the age of 9 years old and are held criminally responsible from this age, however boys are not until the age of 15.
  18. In the Philippines prostitution is defined as a crime only women can commit.
  19. In China a woman is not allowed to work in the mines or do any heavy duty labor jobs.
  20. In India to punish a woman family for offering insufficient dowry, brides are set alight and murdered by their husband or his relatives.

Tuesday 7th February: 

I started to look at different ways in which I could present these laws in a way that would be interesting yet innovative. I didn’t just want to create a set of posters as I didn’t feel that this would work as there are too many different shocking laws that i feel they all need to be heard.

 

I set out to look at the different ways in which I could present these ideas, firstly I looked at creating an animation using photography and filming girls with placards protesting and together coming as one to to show that these are still happening and these are not just laws of the past. I wanted to show this through use of colour, possibly using the idea of a monotone look at first and then at the end changing to the colour to show it fully. However when i spoke about this with my tutor we found that this wouldn’t be as effective as it could be and that i should try and challenge myself more.

I then looked into playing with stereotypes, playing upon the saying ‘women should be in the kitchen’ another idea was to take household objects from the kitchen and place the laws around the kitchen and photograph them to create a booklet. I liked this idea, However I felt that this could be conceived in the wrong way. I want the laws to educate people, to show them, to make them understand whats happening within the world and question how this is still happening within the 21st century.

From here I decided to look into education packs, looking into different ways in which I could present the laws within a format that would be engaging and different. I felt that a booklet would have been appropriate, However I wanted to branch out and create something more psychical and unique to my portfolio.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I decided to start to look at iconography, looking at how I could use imagery to narrate the story of the law without having to write it. I felt that creating a double sided flash card could work as an idea in order to show the pictogram on one side and the written law the other, and see if people can guess through the pictogram. I felt that this concept would be a more effective and engaging experience to learning and add a twist to the other projects my peers were creating.

Creating Icons:

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 23.12.02.png
My Original Icons

I decided to look at the laws and create a list of the events and actions that take place through most of the laws in order to look at creating my own icons. I wanted them to be clear and concise. However i wanted to show the country through the icons. within Stephen McCarthy’s lecture he explained how using stereotypes through icons was deemed as acceptable as long as they were easily differentiated. At first I wanted to try this, looking at how I could tweak the original icon to fit the ethnicity of the country I was trying to present. However when it came to the icons i had created i don’t think this fitted well. I wanted to show that i could create the icons and practice them before my tutorial on Thursday to show where i wanted my project to go and how I wanted them to be presented.

Thursday 9th February:

Group Tutorial Feedback: 

Today we had our group tutorials, I had to show the group my iconography that I had created and explain my idea further and hopefully gain more advice on what i should do to angle my work to the best way possible. My tutor said that the icons I had created could be more simple and keep a running theme, perhaps creating one icon within many different positions that can be used to create all of the pictograms. I felt that this was a good idea and that it could also save time and show consistency throughout my work. He then went on to explain how he liked my headline, ‘Sexist laws that have no place within the 21st century’. This I feel could work well as an explanation on the front of the packaging underneath the main headline.

“* My Next step is to create the cards and the pack, ready for the next tutorial.”

 

Leave a Reply

