|Constellation Overview|

 

sagittarius-constellation-chumack.jpg

At the beginning of the year I didn’t realise that constellation was part of the circular and found the idea of learning something new and different quite daughnting, however when we sat in the lecture hall and we were introduced to the concept and the idea behind it i felt immediately put at ease. I began to become interested with the idea of learning link on subjects and exploring my degree further through different ways of thinking and new concept and ideas in which work is produced.

The key note lectures not only helped broaden our views on design at the moment but also made us think about our future and where design is going. At first I found the lecturers to be quite difficult to understand and they began at a slow pace which i found hard to really grasp, however as they moved on i found them to become more interesting and I enjoyed attending them. they also allowed us to create new relationships outside of our courses and use those relationships to help us through our own work. However I found when it came to the lecture hall we were in the space that was quite big which meant we were spaced out around the area, and it was difficult to hear the tutor that gave the lecture. I feel that if the key note lectures should be held within a smaller study room so that we can hear properly and have no other distractions.

The constellation fair I feel could have been held in a better location, underneath the stairs within the graphics block. I felt with the amount of students within a small space we weren’t able to see the different options available to us and this became difficult when making the decision to choose which topic would be most interesting to ourselves. I myself couldn’t get around to every stall as the room was too cramped and I couldn’t get in to the front in order to speak to a lecturer. Also a few of the lecturers were missing and therefore we had to make our decision using a powerpoint, this gave us a faded opinion as we couldn’t see first hand what the topic would entail. After speaking to members on my course this was deemed to be quite an issue throughout the constellation process and many didn’t enjoy the topic in which they had chosen. I myself did this within the first term. the choices I decided to make were After Modernism and Smells like Teen Spirit

For my first terms constellation I decided to choose After Modernism, reading up n this subject  found the course interesting and I liked the idea of finding images and creating meaning within abstract art. However when it came to the actual lecturers I found the subject quite difficult to relate to my own course, as the art used within after modernism is quite selective and mainly fine-art related I found that the link with graphics was hard to see. I also found that the terminology used to describe elements of the art wasn’t explained and I found this difficult to then use within my own work and further into my essay. this caused me to loose interest within this subject matter as i couldn’t make detailed enough notes throughout subject 1 to deleve in deeper with an argument and explain my essay further within the subject.

Although I didn’t quite understand throughly the subject 1 matter, I found that my lecturer Jonathan Clarkson, was helpful and concise the entire way through term 1, explaining and going through the constellation process with a form of detail used to help us further.

For my second term constellation I decided to choose Smells like Teen Spirit with Cath Davies. I found this class especially interesting and I enjoyed the early morning lectures. I found that cath really helped me break down the analysis theory within the constellation process and linked each part of the subject with our own subjects. This helped me retain information and also use within my own work when designing.  I especially found the use of the column theory has really helped me. I find essays and writing quite difficult and find the process of deeply analysing an image on paper extremely difficult however when it came to using the columns this has helped me gain confidence within my writing and has helped me break don how to structure an essay without the  unnecessary information that I tend to include without realising.

I found that Teen Spirit was one of the best subjects within the choices of the constellation process, I felt that the subject was relatable to every subject and can be used throughout life in general. Ever since learning the different elements that are combined to create the different subcultural looks for example: Goths are easily identifiable by the use of back used within the look, this is normally used within a corset structure victorian mourning dress, this look was symbolic to the victorian era and was normally accompanied by petticoats and lace. This was give off a more elegant and womanly shape, I have been able to identify the different looks within my course or even when I’m in the town centre. This has allowed me to use my knowledge within the subject and be able to transfer it to real life concepts.

When it came to planning out my essay cath gave me many ideas in which I could centre my essay around and concentrate on. However I have decided to focus on the different ways that female japanese subcultures explore the lolita styles. I found that this was my best idea to write about allowing me to have the most information and I was mostly interested in. I find the different styles used throughout society is mainly used throughout the lolita style due to bricolage and combining the different styes of subcultures together.

Although I found the constellation process originally quite difficult to understand and get my head around I found that I really started to understand within the second term and managed to link this within my own work. This process has not only helped me within my work but has allowed me to create new friendship and gain knowledge within the different topics that surround the arts.

 

Leave a Reply

