|Final A2 poster and Web Banner|

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 13.39.20For my add on to my A2 poster I decided to create a web banner to also co-advertise my chosen quote for my future generations project. I started doing the web banner at the same time as the poster so that any changes that were made to one were made to the other in order to show proper amount of progress within the process of this design.

At first I decided to go with the blue and purple design keeping only to the imagery and the quote and keeping the banner as simple and straight to the point as possible to go with the metaphor of the A2 poster as well as not making it too over crowded and easily legible. However when looking at this for a while I found this wasn’t effective and looked too simple and the image wasn’t overly connecting with the typography that I had originally wanted.

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 13.42.02

I then decided that the best way to do this might be making the image larger and bringing the text slightly more to the right to give it a sense of direction when reading the banner itself. However when looking at this image again for too long it still wasn’t working and I felt that maybe the colour pallet was too dark and not adding enough interest. After again seeking guidance from a tutor I felt that the typography also wasn’t working and the italics weren’t really creating the desired affect of background noise, but giving it a more amateur feel to the overall design itself.

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 13.42.18

I then decided to take on board what my peers and tutor had said and to change the colour scheme and typography to create affect in a more interesting and dynamic way. I found that the imagery again had gone slightly pixelated and this was becoming a problem and this was a main part of the design itself. I decided to remove the image and add another in place in order to look ore professional and to change the italic typeface to the same as the poster to create a more united and corporate feel to the design itself.

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 13.39.20

I feel that overall the colour scheme and the imagery itself works better and connects better with the typography in this set up compared to any other. i feel this also adds a feel of unity between both the web banner and the a2 poster itself.

Leave a Reply

