|Duotone Image making Workshop|

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 14.46.34For our image making workshop we had to create duo toned images using photographs of objects and hands. These objects may not correlate together but they can create different affects and interesting images when put together. The image above is a collection of my memory stick and a photograph of hands that I took over the weekend using a model. I decided to keep the colours quite similar together to create more of a light and shadow effect.

I then decided to create a different effect using different colours and and different opacities including a new image. I felt that this was quite interesting when layered together and gave an effect that the other image didn’t really have.Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 15.19.42

I then decided to change the opacity and colour scheme of the hands and the memory stick again to create a more simplistic version of the image above. In order to create a main focus and advertising the watch as the main interest of the poster itself.

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 15.19.29

I then changed the colour scheme again. I allowed for the opacity levels to be changed and having the same intentions of keeping the watch as the main focus I decided to give the watch an outline. As i did this there were small parts of the original image that hadn’t been deleted that I didn’t see that caused small texture points that weren’t aesthetically pleasing.

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 15.17.32

I then decided to go back to the original image to change the colour scheme and create an inverted duotone effect, this gave the image a totally different feel to it and I feel that it was quite effective.

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 14.43.03

I feel that this workshop allowed me to explore different aspects of photoshop that I hadn’t used before. I found this particularly interesting and would like to do more of these workshops in the future in order to be able to learn new techniques and apply them to my work to gain different effects and broaden my work within my portfolio.

Leave a Reply

